Honors Projects


There are three different types of eyes, the simple eye, the compound eye, and the camera eye (Cambridge Dictionary) (Myer-Rochow, 2014) (UCL, 2020). The retina of the eye has evolved and adapted to fit the lifestyles of the respective organisms. Because of this part of the eye, organisms are able to see different colors and use light to define the world using photoreceptors. Photoreceptors are rod cells, which are light sensitive and process light, and cone cells, which perceive the different color wavelengths, that pass visual information to the brain (Kazilek, 2010). About 5% of the photoreceptors in the retinas of humans and rhesus monkeys are cone cells, allowing for blue, red, and green-sensing cones (Molday and Moritz, 2015) (Wikler, et al. 1990). Between 0.5-3% of the photoreceptors in the raccoon eye are cone cells, which allows them to have a limited green color vision (Peichl, 2005). There are also more rods in the retina of the raccoon when compared to the human eye, which allows them to see better in their dark habitats (Ninomiya, et al. 2005).


Honors Program



First Advisor

Daniel Pavuk

First Advisor Department

Biological Sciences

Second Advisor

Sheila Roberts

Second Advisor Department


Publication Date

Spring 4-22-2024