Bowling Green State University

ScholarWorks@BGSU

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

University Publications

7-25-2008

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes 2008-07-25

Bowling Green State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.bgsu.edu/bot How does access to this work benefit you? Let us know!

Repository Citation

Bowling Green State University, "Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes 2008-07-25" (2008). *Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes*. 837.

https://scholarworks.bgsu.edu/bot/837

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Publications at ScholarWorks@BGSU. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks@BGSU.

MINUTES

Board of Trustees Bowling Green State University July 25, 2008

Notice having been given in accordance with the Board of Trustees Bylaws, the following members met in the Bowen-Thompson Student Union on the Bowling Green campus on July 25, 2008: John Harbal, Chair; Antwan Jones, David Levey, Mike Marsh, John Moore, Bill Primrose, J. Robert Sebo, and Fran Voll.

Absent: Daniel Jacoby was absent and Deb Ryan came at 8:40 a.m.

Via telephone conference: Stephanie Imhoff

Also present: President Carol Cartwright, Linda Dobb, Executive Vice President and Secretary to the Board; and several Presidential Search committee members.

Chair Harbal called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. The Board Secretary called the roll and announced that a quorum was present (8 trustees).

Mr. Harbal stated that although a formal press release has not been issued by Governor Strickland, he introduced our two new Trustees: Mr. David Levey of Akron and Mr. Antwan Jones, a Graduate Student at BGSU. Mr. Harbal welcomed both Trustees to the meeting. This meeting will focus on potential search firms who might assist BGSU in seeking the 10th President of Bowling Green State University.

The Board of Trustees had presentations from three search firms and then broke for lunch.

Presidential Search Firm

No. 1-2009: Primrose moved and Marsh seconded that:

Whereas, Bowling Green State University has decided to employ an Executive Search

Firm to help it conduct its search for a new President, and

Whereas, an ad hoc subcommittee of the Board of Trustees has recommended Witt/Kieffer

to assist it in this search, and

Whereas, the Board supports the choice of Witt/Kieffer as a firm capable of engaging the

BGSU community in an inclusive and successful search, now

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that Bowling Green State University will seek to contract with

Witt/Kieffer as its Executive Search Firm for the Presidential search, pending

the resolution of any outstanding issues.

The Board Secretary conducted a roll call vote with the following results: Voting "yes" – Mr. Harbal, Mr. Levey, Mr. Marsh, Mr. Moore, Mr. Primrose, Ms. Ryan, Mr. Sebo, and Mr. Voll. Eight affirmative votes.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Harbal announced that in keeping with the provisions of the state's "sunshine law" and Amended Section 121.22 of the Ohio Revised Code, the Board Members would meet in an executive session to discuss specifics regarding the appointment of the next president. He requested that members meet in Room 311 with the regular meeting to be reconvened in approximately 45 minutes.

No. 2-2009 Harbal moved and Marsh seconded that members of the Board meet in an executive session under divisions (G)(3) and (5) of the Ohio Open Meetings Act (Ohio Revised

Code Section 121.22) to discuss specifics regarding the appointment of the next president.

The Board Secretary conducted a roll call vote with the following results: Voting "yes" - Mr. Harbal, Mr. Levey, Mr. Marsh, Mr. Moore, Mr. Primrose, Ms. Ryan, Mr. Sebo, and Mr. Voll. The motion was approved with 8 affirmative votes.

The regular meeting was recessed and the members moved into executive session in Room 311.

Chair Harbal reconvened the regular meeting with the announcement that members had met in executive session for 90 minutes to discuss specifics regarding the appointment of the next president. No action was taken.

The Board Secretary conducted a roll call vote with the following results: Voting "yes" - Mr. Harbal, Mr. Levey, Mr. Marsh, Mr. Moore, Mr. Primrose, Ms. Ryan, Mr. Sebo, and Mr. Voll. The motion was approved with 8 affirmative votes.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 2:20 p.m.